Reviews

Police Station

Customer Reviews

Read what our customers had to say about The Village on Trip Advisor and Google.

There are over 300 recent reviews for The Australiana Pioneer Village on TripAdvisor and Google. Our passionate team of volunteers strives to make every trip to The Village an enjoyable experience for all. Come out and see why our customer reviews gained us the 2019 Certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor.

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

Genuine Reviews

5 star ratingGreat place to spend a day Had no real knowledge of this place and was pleasantly surprised. Family of 4 for $15 entry. Plenty of history to see, read and have explained by the appropriately dressed and informed staff. 2 x eateries if you don't want to do a picnic, plenty of space for picnics and to run around. Free bikes was a nice touch; some entertainment you need to pay for, including hay ride,mini-train and smaller kids train, feeding the animals. Plenty of parking and just enough to do and see to fill an afternoon. Worth a visit.
read more
markT4404SB Avatar
markT4404SB
10/10/2019
5 star ratingGreat Day My granddaughter and I had a fantastic day yesterday even though it looked like it was going to be yucky with all the rain it turned out beautiful, I had rung earlier to check if they would be open and they rang me back to update me.

The staff was helpful and accomodating and so friendly. Can't wait to go again, Good value for the money, and the food at the Damper Camp was so yummy!
The train and tractor ride was great value. Loved the Lolly shop and The B
read more
Robyn Avatar
Robyn
20/09/2020
Fantastic day out with the family. Plenty of hands on activities for the kids, large grassed areas with plenty of shade. I love the various events throughout the year. Plenty of off-street parking. A great value day out
read more
Ally Momentz Avatar
Ally Momentz
26/09/2018
Went to the Cyberpunk function. Even without that event there is lots to see and do and take in the atmosphere. Everyone was so welcoming and helpful and smiling having a great time. Seema it's mostly volunteers. We will definitely be back soon
read more
Wally Anglesea Avatar
Wally Anglesea
26/08/2019
We had lots of fun on our visit with a 5 yo. They do an animal feed walk where kids can feed the horses, goats and sheep. There is a miniature train and tractor trailer rides. Lots of open space so take some chairs or picnic blanket if you like. Food service was slow, but we did go on one of their busier days so wasnt unexpected; food was simple but yummy.
read more
Brian King Avatar
Brian King
26/05/2019
5 star ratingGreat value day out This place is like stepping back in time. Fascinating insight into the lives of early European settlers.

Beautiful grounds, picnic areas, BBQs, toilets. Cheap entry, free parking. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

If you are visiting Sydney, it's well worth a day trip to the Hawkesbury region.
read more
TravelsWithTN Avatar
TravelsWithTN
13/08/2020
I had a lovely day there. It's got some great old homes and stores to look at and explore that are full of antique furnishings to resemble the past. They have quite a few bbq facilities some as you just drive in near the carpark central to everything and a bbq area around the back near the water that's where we had lunch it was lovely and peaceful we bought our own bbq with us plus they have food you can buy at reasonable prices if you don't want to cook your own. There are horses,sheep ,donkeys that I saw. Plenty of space for kids to run around. I purchased some lovely pottery from a Lollie shop with pottery in the back.I took heaps of photos & a lovely lady working there let me take her photo and she was dressed in a lovely dress from the past. There is a train ride and also a tractor ride there kids would love. I love the set up there and will certainly go there again as I will explore more as I got there late. It's a cheap day out as only $5 to get in and lots to see. The old classroom desks remind me when I was in school. It's a really fascinating place to see.
read more
Elisa Silvy Avatar
Elisa Silvy
26/08/2019
Enjoy family the me. Kids would definitely love it. Staffs and workers were very cooperative and helpful. Few rides for kids, don't hesitate to ask questions to super friendly staffs to know about haritage.
read more
Suresh Pritmani Avatar
Suresh Pritmani
14/06/2021
Worth the $5 entry. Fun and interesting place. Some of the volunteers could use some people skills but otherwise nice. Tea and scones were good value. Live music was a nice touch. Good way to spend a couple of hours on a Sunday.
read more
James Tintinger Avatar
James Tintinger
16/07/2019
5 star ratingA wonderful place to visit with kids and see part of Australia’s history Hadn’t been to this place in over 20 years but was certainly not disappointed when we took our grand daughter there today.
This place is run by volunteers who are so amazing. They are so helpful and so good with the kids.
The buildings are all very old and bought to this site before that were lost in history. Rose Cottage dates back to the early 1800s. It is great history lesson for the kids.
That volunteers run lots of activities for the kids.
A must do very close to Sydney.
Loved it.
read more
MarkG1953 Avatar
MarkG1953
17/04/2019
We had an awesome time here, the display old homes are very2 authentic, many2 good spots to take photos, the staff are so nice. thanks to Garry who helped my daughter to ride the penny farthing bike 2 long rounds! I really appreciate it. and to the very friendly train driver. It was time well spent. will surely comeback, and tell friends and relatives!
read more
edwin chan Avatar
edwin chan
03/10/2022
I had the pleasure of visiting The Australiana Pioneer Village today with my family. We had a wonderful time learning about life in Australia over 100 years ago. The staff at The Australiana Pioneer Village were friendly and informative. They were happy to answer our questions and help us learn more about the village. We also appreciated the fact that the village is a non-profit organization. Overall, we had a wonderful time at The Australiana Pioneer Village. It was a great way to learn about Australian history and culture, and we would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning more about the early days of the colony.
read more
Amit Pratap Avatar
Amit Pratap
12/08/2023
5 star ratingLovely local step back in time We’ve visited the pioneer village a few times over the last couple of years with our young children.
It’s a great day out and quite close to home. The entry is quite cheap and to be honest I think it’s too cheap. It’s run by volunteers who have a genuine love for the village.
We’ve eaten at the small restaurant each time and have never been disappointed with the quality and quantity of the food.
Overall a great family day out.
read more
ladybeetles Avatar
ladybeetles
04/02/2019
A true gem! What a privilege to explore this historical village and enjoy the miniature trains, hayride and animal feeding time. My kids absolutely loved the free bikes to get around for the special Science and Nature day. A testament to the dedicated volunteers who give of their time. We returned within the week to explore further!
read more
Ananna R Avatar
Ananna R
26/07/2019
A down to earth blast from the past with the usual overpriced food. Don't expect a polished theme park experience but the rough edges give it that sense of authenticity. Well worth the price of entry.
read more
Kong Yin Lai Avatar
Kong Yin Lai
29/06/2023
This place is a hidden gem in Hawkesbury. Easy to access and lot of parking. If you have young kids, then a great place to spend a day. Got a lot of activities including mini train rides, tractor ride, animal feeding etc. btw some activities could be a bit better organised and presented better hence I didn’t give 5 stars. Yet not discounting the fact that it’s volunteers running this and well managed with available resources I feel.
read more
Kushar Perera Avatar
Kushar Perera
01/05/2023
What a great way to spend a few hours or an entire day. The history of the town and things to see are amazing. They have a couple cafes there for lunch or a snack or bring something to cook on the electric bbqs in the picnic area. The staff there are great, very friendly and love to have a chat. Be sure to go for a ride on the train and hay wagon.
read more
shady G Avatar
shady G
16/12/2019
just had a family day...13of us had a wonderful time ..something for everyone,feeding the animals, tractor and train rides spotless picnic areas as were the toilets.volunteers were so helpful and friendly.great time had by all.
read more
margaret mooring Avatar
margaret mooring
16/10/2019
5 star ratingGhost Tour This is a really interesting place to visit but my favourite thing is the ghost tours run by APPI and they always provide a good well run ghost tour. You will be shown different areas, some will demonstrate equipment and others focus on experiments or the more Victorian style spiritualism activities. There are no jump scares or set ups which I prefer.

The place is big enough to do your own ghost hunting experience at the end which is so much more than other tours offer so if you are into ghost hunts I highly recommend you try the
read more
Erin B Avatar
Erin B
19/08/2021
A bunch of lovely volunteers, one of them even replicate a 150 year old bicycle and riding it around! Too bad they are all pretty old now and need new blood to keep this place running.
read more
Möbius Strip Avatar
Möbius Strip
04/04/2024
Chemist Druggist
Traditional Hut
Antique Water Pump
Children Activities
Historical Post Office